Date: Friday, May 20, 2011 | Time: 6PM to 8PM

Place: CUNY Graduate Center - Martin E. Segal Theatre
365 Fifth Avenue (Corner of 34th Street), Manhattan


2011 Winners & Runner-ups

Fiction Film

  • Winner: Home - Seimi Kim (Brooklyn College)

  • Runner-up: Club Fizz - Yosuke Hosoi (City College)

Documentary Film

  • Winner: Teaching Outside the Box - Katharine Filardi (Brooklyn College)

  • Runner-up: My Piano Life - Jiayi Wang (Brooklyn College)


Since 2004, the CUNY Asian American Film Festival (AAFF) has recognized and awarded over $6,600 in cash prizes to student filmmakers enrolled at the City University of New York, including City College, Brooklyn College, Hunter College, Lehman College, and the College of Staten Island. The CUNY AAFF helps to promote the artistic visual talents and stimulate communication among CUNY students who are separated by the different campuses spread across the five boroughs, and serve as a central location to display their creative works among colleagues involved in the same field of study and interest.

AAARI encourages all currently enrolled (or recently graduated in Spring/Fall 2010) CUNY undergraduate and graduate students, Asian and non-Asian, to participate in this great opportunity. Winner ($200) and runner-up ($100) prizes will be awarded for each of the following categories:

Fiction | Documentary | Experimental

On the evening of the Festival, all winners and runner-ups will remain anonymous until after a screening of selected films that have been reviewed by our distinguished panel of judges. Following the screening will be an award ceremony and Q&A session with the winners and runner-ups.

Winners* of the 8th Annual CUNY Asian American Film Festival will also have the exciting opportunity to have their films screened at the 34th Asian American International Film Festival, organized by Asian CineVision, taking place from August 10 to 20, 2011.

* Winners may or may not include Honorable Mention recipients, depending on time limit imposed by Asian CineVision's Film Festival schedule.







2011 Film Festival

Festival Program

Festival Chairman
Vinit Parmar

Panel of Judges
John Acosta
Yunah Hong
David Hou
Sonjia Hyon
Herman Lew
Leslie McCleave
Vinit Parmar
Ryoya Terao

Asian CineVision

William Tam

Technical Assistance
Antony Wong
Zhu-Hui Wu

Festival Archive

2017 | 2016 | 2015 |
2014 | 2013 | 2012 |
2011 | 2010 | 2009 |
2008 | 2007 | 2006 |
2005 | 2004



Asian American / Asian Research Institute 2018

25 West 43rd Street, Room 1000, New York, NY 10036   
Phone: 212-869-0182 / 0187   
Fax: 212-869-0181 | E-mail: